Registration occurs in person at the Transportation/Registration office located at 87 Wanser Ave, Inwood, NY 11096
Appointments to register can be made by emailing us at email@example.com or calling (516)295-7065
All appointments must be scheduled at least 24 hours in advance.
Some requests can now be done online! Use the links below to complete the appropriate form:
Bus Stop Change Request Form
Child Care Request Form
Bus Concerns Form
The Lawrence Public Schools works diligently to ensure that only students who reside in the District attend its schools. Therefore, if non-residency is suspected, you are encouraged to contact us confidentially at (516) 295-7065.
Lawrence Public Schools does not provide transportation for students (public & non-public) on the following days:
Friday After Thanksgiving
New Year’s Day
Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Saturday or Sunday
Note: No transportation will be provided for the above listed holidays on the Federally observed day.
Immunization requirements are based on both Public Health Law and Education law which apply to all students attending school. The links below provide an overview of the New York State Immunization Requirements for School Entrance/Attendance pertaining to the 2018-2019 School Year. All New York State School Districts must review the immunization records of each student enrolled in their district and report annually to the Department of Health. In doing so, the Lawrence Union Free School District is required to identify students who lack the required immunization(s) or students who are not in the process of completing the immunization series with a scheduled age appropriate appointment. Those students identified as not meeting with the requirements will result in exclusion from school within 14 days of attendance. All schools are obliged to enforce the requirements of New York State Public Health Law, Section 2164.
Click here to view the immunization requirements.
Any student who does not meet the above-stated criteria is in violation of New York State Public Health Law, Section 2164, and will not be admitted to school until the student presents satisfactory written evidence of compliance.
Transportation to the public schools in the District is provided on the basis of the student’s grade and a minimum distance from home to school, unless Child Safety Zones have been authorized by the voters. Distances are measured by the shortest route between home and school of attendance.
The following distances presently apply:
Kindergarten. . . . . All Ride
Grades 1-5. . . . . . 1/2 mile
Grades 6–8 . . . . . 1 mile
Grades 9–12 . . . . 1 1/4 mile
All residents of the Lawrence School District requesting transportation/textbooks for their children who will be attending a non-public school must submit an application on or before April 1st in order to be eligible for the following school year. Late requests or changes in schools will not be honored if it incurs an additional cost to the district.
Transportation for children attending non-public schools is based on the same minimum distances established for public schools. State Education law requires the District to provide transportation to non-public schools up to a maximum of fifteen miles from the student’s home.
LENGTH OF TIME ON BUS
The length of time is determined by the number of stops on each bus route. The greater the number of requested stops, the more time it takes. The length of time on a bus may be shortened by having children grouped at different locations.
Students will be dropped off at their assigned stop. Only Kindergarten students will have house stops unless their street is a dead-end. The parent or designated person must be outside to accept the child.
A student only has one bus assignment to and from school. Students are only to use the bus they are assigned to in the morning and afternoon.
Each school has their own assigned buses. From time to time, parents request that each of their children, going to different schools, receive the same bus stops because they are unable to be at different corners at the same time. When we are able to accommodate the request, we will. If we are unable to accommodate the same bus stop, parents will have to make other arrangements.
ARRANGEMENTS FOR CHILDCARE DROP-OFFS
A child care drop-off may be arranged for students in Grades K-8, if the location is within eligibility distance and within the Lawrence School District. The request for change of drop-off location must be for the five days of the week.
ARRANGEMENTS FOR PLAY DATE DROP-OFFS
For the safety of our children no play date bus changes will be made.
ARRANGEMENTS FOR DROP-OFF IN AN EMERGENCY
In an extreme emergency the Transportation Office will make every effort to accommodate the request.
ARRANGEMENTS FOR DIVORCED PARENTS
A child has one legal address and bus privileges are to and from that location. Childcare bus changes will be made but only within the Lawrence School District and for the full five days of the week.
There is no NYS Law mandating the use of seat belts but only that seat belts are provided on school buses. If parents want their child belted, they must encourage their child to use their seat belt.
BEHAVIOR ON BUSES
The driver shall write up an incident/behavior report when necessary and the school official will address the issue.
FOR QUESTIONS AND CONCERNS CALL (516) 295-7065
PLEASE LEAVE A MESSAGE AND SOMEONE WILL GET BACK TO YOU SHORTLY
PARENTS ARE REQUESTED NOT TO CALL THE BUS COMPANY DIRECTLY
Passing a Stopped School Bus
Section 1174 of the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law prohibits vehicles from passing a stopped school bus. Every person convicted of a violation shall: for a first conviction be punished by a fine of not less than $250 nor more than $400 or by imprisonment for not more than 30 days or by both such fine and imprisonment; for a conviction of a second violation, both of which were committed within a period of 3 years, such person shall be punished by a fine of not less than $600 nor more than $750 or by imprisonment for not more than 180 days or by both such fine and imprisonment; upon a conviction of a third or subsequent violation, all of which were committed within a period of 3 years, such person shall be punished by a fine of not less than $750 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 180 days or by both such fine and imprisonment.